top of page

Upcycling - In the 21st Century


Sometimes, finding time can be really difficult, especially when there's a child involved. Since Andy and I moved to Stafford (about 3 months ago), I've been slowly working through a lot of my things and finding out what I can sell. Last year, I heard about Vinted but since I'd just moved in with family, and I had no idea where anything was, I thought I'd wait until after we moved. When we did, I started working through my stuff, and Little Man's (my online nickname for our son). I've made several sales and made quite a bit of money. I thought I'd share a little about the process and the journey of an item from my end to postage. Maybe that will encourage you to join me on Vinted... the platform I've been using for upselling my preloved items.


Upload

Once you create an account with Vinted and sorted out your profile, you have the opportunity to upload whatever you want to sell. If you upload a lot of good-quality pictures of the items you want to sell. Just fill in the different fields listed below the photo (pretty self-explanatory). A few things to bear in mind:

  • Make sure that you photograph the labels (and tags, if the items you're selling still have them).

  • Photographs of the back and front, as well as any faults, marks or damages, will be very helpful.

  • be aware that high street branded clothes and shoes tend to go well unless it's from Primark. People aren't that keen on paying for items of clothing as well as the postage if they can get the same item, brand new from their local Primark, for a little more than what you're asking for.

Then hit upload.


Sale And Postage

Once you've uploaded your item(s), you wait. Once someone decides to buy something you've listed they'll either buy the product you've listed for the asking price, or they'll offer a lower amount. You can choose to accept this new price. Once the price is all settled the buyer will then pay for the postage. You can choose what postage options you'd like to use (there are several to choose from) in the settings before you start uploading items that you want to sell.

  • Some delivery companies will ask you to print out a label before you take the parcel to the shop to drop it off. Evri (formerly Hermes) is one such company that will ask you to do this. So if you don't have access to a printer, this can turn into a rather pricy choice as you'll need to get the labels printed.

  • Other companies, like Yodel, will send you a barcode that you can take to the parcel shop and they'll print out the label for you, and then put the parcel somewhere to be collected to be taken to the depot.

Payment

Once your parcel has been delivered to the buyer and they've marked that they're happy with the purchase, you'll have the money transferred to the balance section of your account. You can choose to withdraw the money to your bank account or you can choose to leave the money in your Vinted balance section.


I hope you've found this little update helpful. I really enjoy selling items on Vinted and have managed to sell quite a few things. I'm planning to continue to upload items on there, so if you're interested in having a look at what I've listed, take a look at my profile.

38 views
bottom of page